We had great feedback about the countdown facts we had in the lead up to our Scholarship Ambassador competition, so we thought we’d put them all together for your reading pleasure. Looks like this fact thing is going to continue, so stay tuned for the next lot of random facts.



#1 – We decided to do a collection of number one from our Ambassadors – Rebekah Keat, Belinda Granger and Elly Franks.

Rebekah Keat:

  • Bek’s first sub 9hr performance was at Challenge Roth 2009 – 8:39;24
  • She also had the number one marathon that day – 2:55:28

Belinda Granger:

  • BG’s first Ironman = Ironman Australia, 1999.
  • BG’s first Ironman win = Ironman Asia (Korea), 2001
  • She has now done 44 Ironman events. Questions is, where will number 50 be? She will do 46 by the end of this year, so 2013 will be the lucky year

Elly Franks:

  • Elly’s first triathlon was Noosa. She had done no training and borrowed a friend’s mountain bike. She couldn’t sit down for a week afterwards.
  • ONE year later she represented Australia at the age group worlds
  • She also has the number one fastest Half Ironman bike split in Australia – Busso Half 2011 (2:17:20)


#2 – The number of big wins for Rachel Joyce in 2011

  • ITU World Long Course Champs
  • Ironman Lanzarote – first Ironman win


#3 – The amount of times that Joanna King won at the Nepean Triathlon. Her and Nicholas Hornman are the only two athletes to win three times.


#4 – The amount of medals Australia has won at the Olympics. This is the most that any country has won, and it’s also an all womens cast


#5 – The number of Australian female World Champions in 2011

  • Mel Hauschildt (nee Rollison) in the 70.3 – PRO
  • Lauren Robertson in the Olympic Distance – 35-59
  • Andrena Moore in the Olympic Distance – 60-64
  • Nickey Wester in the Sprint Distance – 40-44
  • Jane Mountford in the Sprint Distnace – 60-64


#6 – ‘06’ was the year that Michellie Jones won at Kona. The first time an Australian woman ever won! AND, the second Australian behind Greg Welch to win in Kona


#7 – The number of times Jo Lawn has won her home race, Ironman New Zealand. AND she has broken the record every time.


#8 – The amount of Ironman World Championships Paula Newby Fraser won – The Queen of Kona


#9 – The amount of sub 9hr Iron-distance races Chrissie Wellington has completed… AND won of course.


#10 – The amount of years ago that Leanda Cave won the ITU World Championships in Cancun.


#11 – The amount of minutes that Mirinda Carfrae was down off the bike in Kona 2010 – she ended up winning by the way!


#12 – The amount of consecutive World Cup races that Emma Carney won consecutively, 1995-1997

2 Responses

  1. Kacey

    These countdown facts were great Stef. It was a great and fun idea to countdown the closure of a great competition. I know I was excited to see what the next day would bring:)


Leave a Reply to Anonymous Cancel Reply

Your email address will not be published.